2018 Harold S. Hirsch Awards - Call for Entries

2018 Harold S. Hirsch Awards – Call for Entries

Hirsch Award Graphic

“The concept for the Harold S. Hirsch Awards for Excellence in Snowsports Journalism was a direct result of the 1960 Winter Olympics and an effort to promote professionalism in winter sports coverage.”

The 2018 Hirsch Awards have a new format! These awards have changed over the years to reflect changes in the ways our members communicate and NASJA is excited to present the new streamlined categories. Be sure to check out the story behind the Hirsch awards, written by Vicki Hoefling Andersen.

2018 Hirsch Award Categories & Guidelines:

We now have two annual award categories, ‘Words’ and ‘Images.’ The ‘Books’ award is given every third year, and will be included in this year’s contest. Find out why and how the Hirsch Awards have changed here

For the first 28 year of the Hirsch Awards, which began in 1963, there was only one writing category, so with our “new” streamlined categories we are going back to simpler times. This year this winner of the writing category is simply the best.


Any words you write about snowsports, including words in audio form for podcasts, etc., are eligible. Work must have been published in print or online during the time period between 7/1/17 and 6/30/18.


This category encompasses various modes of visual presentation, including but not limited to photographs, video and multimedia productions, presented in print, online or exhibited. Work must have been published in print or online during the time period between 7/1/17 and 6/30/18.


Both traditional or digitally published books will be accepted.  Book must have been published in print or online during the time period between 7/1/12and 6/30/18.

Hirsch Award Guidelines:

Judges will be evaluating all works based on their overall contribution to the field of snowsports journalism. While we recognize that it is difficult to compare columns with news and brief social media type entries, judges will be instructed to select the words that rise to the top in what we expect a diverse group of entries.

The Hirsch competition is now open to everyone, not just NASJA press members. The contest is free to enter for NASJA members. An entry fee of $35 for non NASJA members will be charged and will include one year’s membership in NASJA for those who have never been members. Former NASJA members may enter for the $35 fee, but membership will not be included in this fee. Each of this year’s award categories (Words, Images, Books) will require a minimum of three people entering in order to take place. People can enter both the Words and Images categories (and the Book category). The

Prizes for the Hirsch Award will include a trophy and a Rossignol helmet and goggle package for each winner.

Winners will be announced by December 31st, and profiles of judges on our panel will also be released.


Harold S. Hirsch

Harold S. Hirsch

Since 1963, the Harold S. Hirsch Award  has recognized excellence involving snowsports, emphasizing journalistic creativity and editorial or artistic content. The concept for these awards came after the 1960 Winter Olympics from Harold S. Hirsch, ski clothing pioneer and founder of White Stag, to promote professionalism in winter sports coverage. Award recipients are chosen by a panel of judges with the highest credentials in the fields of journalism, writing, education, snowsports and visual media.